Texas do not call list takes effect January 1
Texans can register name address and phone with the Texas Public Utility Commission for a three year $2.25 fee. The first list publishes April 1 and telemarketers have 60 days to remove numbers. Violations can trigger $1000 fines. the registry aims to curb telemarketing with several states adopting similar do not call lists.
MENTIONED IN THIS ARTICLE
Houston
Texas Public Utility Commission
PUC
Theresa Gage
Texas
New York
Florida
United States
Radio Shack
Jill Lain
Real Christmas trees fly off shelves after Sept. 11
Retailers report a surge in demand for real Christmas trees in San Antonio as shoppers seek traditional, authentic trees. Despite economy fears, many customers traveled long distances for fresh specimens, with several lots reporting near or total sellouts and higher than expected sales.
MENTIONED IN THIS ARTICLE
San Antonio
Pat Murphy
Murphy
Papa Noel
Jessica Jennings
Michigan
Oregon
Jennings
Sheila Keen
London
Texas
Papa Noel’s
Jim Hingst
Pipe Creek
Don Lee
Family mourns Irving officer killed by escapees on Christmas Eve
Jayne Hawkins recalls her grandson Andrew's plea to Santa as Irving police officer Aubrey Hawkins is remembered after his 11 shots amid a prison break. Five men face capital murder charges with trial set for January 14 for Donald Newbury. George Rivas, convicted earlier, faces death. others’ prosecutions loom. The family sues the state for $500,000, claiming staffing and security failures. Authorities pledge to tighten prison procedures and raise staffing and pay. Andrew marks another Christmas without his father as he awaits a future trial and healing.
MENTIONED IN THIS ARTICLE
Dallas
Jayne Hawkins
Daddy
Andrew
Irving
Aubrey Hawkins
Donald Newbury
George Rivas
Hawkins
Rivas
Oshman
SuperSports USA
Connally
Texas
Colorado
Bill Hill
Barry Sorrell
el Paso
Sorrell
Sorrels
Aubrey
Texas Department of Criminal Justice
Larry Todd
Shell
Sporting Goods
Jess
Corpus Christi to Toughen Fines for Drunk Driving
In Corpus Christi prosecutors announce a holiday period penalty raise for drunk driving from now until January 2. First-time offenders face up to 2000 in fines plus 3000 in costs and fees, with maximums of 4000 for second offenders and 10000 for third offenders, per District Attorney Carlos Valdez.
MENTIONED IN THIS ARTICLE
Corpus Christi
Texas
Carlos Valdez
Valdez
Also Mentioned on This Page
Texasnocall
Lee
Montgomery
Park St
Cheryl O'Neal Gomerly
San Jacinto Mall
Raquel Is
Cheryl
Garth Road
LAZUR
Garth Rd
Baytown
Exlazur.com
Precinct 3
Ken Jones
Randy Wooldridge
David Mendez
East Road
Microsoft