New Braunfels Herald Zeitung Newspaper Archives

- Page 5

Issue Date:
Pages Available: 20

About New Braunfels Herald Zeitung

  • Publication Name: New Braunfels Herald Zeitung
  • Location: New Braunfels, Texas
  • Pages Available: 250,382
  • Years Available: 1952 - 2013
Learn More About This Publication


  • 2.17+ Billion Articles and Growing Everyday!
  • More Than 400 Years of Papers. From 1607 to Today!
  • Articles Covering 50 U.S.States + 22 Other Countries
  • Powerful, Time Saving Search Features!
Find Your Ancestors Now

View Sample Pages : New Braunfels Herald Zeitung, April 18, 1997

Get Access to These Newspapers Plus 2.17+ Billion Other Articles

OCR Text

New Braunfels Herald Zeitung (Newspaper) - April 18, 1997, New Braunfels, Texas Herald-Zeitung a Friday, April 18,1997 O 5A CISDSVHS Players make school history: advance to UIL,Regional competitionCHS business students win state, advance to national competition See the UIL award winning play April 19 at SVHS The Smithson Valley Players made history for the school with their outstanding performances during UIL One Act Play competition. They advanced from UIL Zone, to District contest, and were picked to go on to Area competition. At Aiea, the troupe won even more awards and received the nod to perform at Regional UIL competition, a first ever for the school. The Regional performance will be3p.m.,Nov. 18, at San Antonio's John Jay High School. “This is really great! The kids are just super! It's definitely the best we've ever done," an excited Shawn Saunders, SVHS drama teacher and play Director, said. She is a nine-year teaching veteran at the school. Many of the Players won UIL awards for their performances and work on their one act play entry. Jean Anouilh’s Thieves’ Carnival. Erik Heard and Laura Cox won Zone All-Star Cast Awards and Tamber Richey and Chad Spear received Honorable Mention All-Star Cast medals. Zone Best Actor accolades were received by Hal Moncrief and Best Crew Award went to Assistant Director and Stage Manager Stacey Flores. At District, All-Star medals went to Laura Cox, Erik Heard, and Chad Spear. Tamber Richey and Mike Lynch won the Honorable Mention All-Star Cast Awards. Colby Mantooth received the District Best Actor medal and Mandy Marin won Best Crew for her work as Stage Manager and Costume Designer. The full cast and crew of the record setting SVHS Players includes Tamber Richey, Erik Heard, January Ragland, Justin Whitney, Colby Mantooth, Chad Spear, Amy Kneupper, Laura Cox, Courtney Hurst, Hal Moncrief, Johnny de los Santos, Mike Lynch, Shawn Holt, Alyssa Crandall, Heather May, Kara McNiel, Edna Snowden, Willie John Snowden, Stacy Flores, Mandy Marin, Travis Watson, and Jillian Hurst CISD photo by Don Clark Pictured in front are the CHS Texas State Championship Small Business Management Team of (L-R) Jerome Clayton, Leilani Parra, Kimberly Hall, Kay Franklin (faculty sponsor), Ricardo Romanies. The team will compete at the Business Professionals of America National Conference in Orlando Florida. Gail Gitcho, Courtnee Hohensee, and Melissa Yeaman (back row) will also travel to Orlando to represent the school in the election process for national officers. CISD photo by Don Clark Shown are the cast and crew of the UIL Award winning SVHS Players as they prepare for Regional competition and their play Thieves ’ Carnival, by Jean Anouilh. Patrons can see this award winning comedy at 7 p.m., April 19, in the school commons. Admission is $2.50 for students/senior citizens and $3.50 for others. Senior citizens can attend free of charge with the CISD Senior Citizen Card, available from the CISD Office of Public Information. (Not pictured: Travis Watson, Alyssa Crandall, Erick Head, and Edna Snowden.) i------------------------------------ j    Add these important events to your calendar! j J    #    Apr.    19. Night of One Act Plays. 7 p.m., SVHS Commons.    J j    4    Apr.    22. Earth Day activities scheduled at elementary and primary schools.    I I    4    Apr.    22. Arlon Seay Intermediate School Learning Fair.    I I    4    Apr.    22. Long-Range Facilities Planning Committee Meeting, 6:30 p.m., SYMS. ■ 4    Apr. 24. Take Our Daughters (and Sons) to Work Day.    j 4    Apr. 24. Board of Trustees’ Meeting, 7:30 p.m.. Bill Brown Elementary School. | 4    Apr. 25. Canyon Intermediate School TAAS Pep Rally, I p.m., gym.    I 4    Apr. 25. Canyon Middle School Dance, 7-10 p.m., commons.    I ___________________________________i Four Canyon High Sc hoed business students won a Texas Championship at the Business Professionals of America State Conference. They now travel to competition at the National Leadership Conference, scheduled for April 25 through 29 in Orlando, Florida. Kimberly Hall, Leilani Parra, Jerome Crayton, and Ricardo Romanillos are the 1997 Small Business Management Team state champions. Small Business Management competition is designed to test the student's ability to negotiate solutions, think creatively, make decisions, and solve problems as a team. The team was required to provide solutions to a business case study, then make their presentation Loa three judge panel. To win, the team demonstrated a superior knowledge of business management concepts including equipment/facility requirements, business ethics, human resources, finance, market research, bankruptcy, and legal issues. Gail Gitcho, Courtnee Hohensee, and Melissa Yeaman will also attend the national conference. They will work with the election process for national officers of the Business Professionals of America organization. Their responsibilities will include making presentations on behalf of the three Texas delegates to the confer ence. Over 4,000 students from across the nation are slated to attend the National Business Professionals of America Conference. They will participate in national level business skill competitions, workshops, and national officer candidate campaigns and elections. The CHS students must raise about $6,000 by mid-April to travel to National competition. Sponsors and donors are asked to contact Canyon High School at 625-6251. r  -------—“———i Trustee election made easy 1 WHO VOTES: ■ Only patrons in single member districts (SMD) 1,2, and 5. SMD numbers are found on your voter registration card. Questions? Call the CISD Business Office at 885-7674 or 625-8081. THE CANDIDATES; ■ SMD #1: Lee Ikels, Dora Gonzales ■ SMD WI: Dan K. Krueger (unopposed) ■ SMD #5: Lester Jonas, Calvin Kempin, Bill Bumam WHERE/WHEN TO VOTE; Early Voting (For all polls: 8 a.m.-5 p.m., weekdays, April 14-29) ■ Comal County Courthouse (Courthouse only: Saturday, April 26,9 a.m.-2 p.m.) ■ Bill Brown Elementary, Bulverde Elementary, Comal Elementary, Mountain Valley Elementary Schools Election Day (7 a.m.-7 p.m., May 3)    dip    md Canyon High School (SMDs I and 2)    «v«i Bill Brown Elementary School (SMD 5) UTThe 1997-98 Edition of the50,000 copies will be distril Copies may be found at selects and of course, at the N< Features will inch pipDirectory, Schools, Yqi interesting to VisirofyJ:lcome to New Braunfels Vacation/Relocate:ed in New Braunfels and ComaliCounty fro]Guide is just around the corner![ay through the end of the year. tai estate offices, shopping centers,is- plus a Church illhd ;