Internet Payments

Secure & Reliable

Your data is encrypted and secure with us.
Godaddyseal image
VeraSafe Security Seal

Lethbridge Herald Newspaper Archives

- Page 8

Join us for 7 days to view your results

Enter your details to get started

or Login

What will you discover?

  • 108,666,265 Obituaries
  • 86,129,063 Archives
  • Birth & Marriages
  • Arrests & legal notices
  • And so much more
Issue Date:
Pages Available: 24

Search All United States newspapers

Research your ancestors and family tree, historical events, famous people and so much more!

Browse U.S. Newspaper Archives


Select the state you are looking for from the map or the list below

OCR Text

Lethbridge Herald, The (Newspaper) - March 25, 1974, Lethbridge, Alberta 8 THE LETHBRIDGE HERALD Monday. EXPLORE CANADA IN 74 Escorted tourt by Hall. BIM, or Air EMltrn or WMltrn Canada. Yukon end N.W.T. For inlormitten and contact- ART WILLIAMS TRAVEL 328-3201 5, 1974 Top SWC athletes receive awards The top teams and athletes of the 1973-74 Southwest Conference Athletic Association season were honored at their annual awards banquet in Coaldale Saturday night. Team awards went to the Coaldale Kate Andrews Larks lor winning the girls'basketball title, Lethbridge Winston Churchill Bulldogs for being the boys' hoop winners. Fort Macleod F. P. Walshe Chinooks for being the gals' volleyball champs and the Vauxhall Vikings for winning the boys' volleyball title. Meanwhile all-conference awards were also handed out to individual players who excelled in their respective sports during the 1973-74 season. In girls' basketball all- conference awards went to the following: Gail Blanchard, Ev Daw and Diane Turner of Winston Churchill: Sandra Bohner and Bonny Stanko of Coaldale: Connie Bresovski and Joan West of Taber; Elaine Charlesworth and Brenda Lehto of Picture Butte: Peggy Conner of Fort Macleod; and Cindy Dorchak and Pat Skidmore of Vauxhall. Honorable mention went to Peggy Hester and Virginia Lee of Fort Macleod, Shelly Dickout of Picture Butte and Barb Habajanac of Coaldale. Boys' basketball all- conference awards went to the following athletes: Blaine Barr of Fort Macleod; Kendall Duce, Perry Mirkovich and Barry Schmidt of Winston Churchill; Bruce Francis of Taber; Allan Friesen of Vauxhall; Terry Hanna of Picture Butte; Marty HIrsche and Scott Perrett of Stirling; David Janzen of Coaldale, and Experience didn't pay dividends CALGARY (CP) Experience gave way to Saturday night in the Rodeo Royal bronc-riding finals as Monte Henson, 20, of Mesquite. Tex., won the saddle-bronc event. He edged Marty Wood, 41, of Colorado Springs, Colo., formerly of Bowness, Alta., by a single point. Wood marked a 75 in the finals but finished fourth in the first round, while Henson built up a lead, and could not overtake the youngster. Brian Claypool of Saskatoon won the bull-riding championship with a healthy lead over John Davis of Homedalen. Idaho. Larry- Ferguson of Miami, Okla.. winner of the Calgary Stampede calf-roping championship last year, won the same event here Saturday. Lee Phillips. 1973 Canadian rookie of the year, won the steer-wrestling championship in. a combined time of 7.6 seconds for two head. Veteran bareback rider Jim Dix of North Collie. Australia, won the bareback title with a pair of 76s. All-round champion was Larry Collins of Laramie. Wyo.. who finished second in bareback riding and also competed in steer-wrestling and bull riding. Racquetball tourney set The Lethbridge YMCA Racquetball Club will be staging an open racquetball tournament April 5-7. The three-day tourney will include both men's and women's events and the entry deadline has been set for this Wednesday night. Further information about the tourney and entry forms can be obtained at the front desk at the YMCA. Anthony Miller of Milk River. Honorable mention went to Richard Boras, Brian King and Walt Zielinski of Coaldale, Murray Hughes and Len Neiboer of. Picture Butte and Jack Lemire of Fort Macleod. In girls' volleyball play, all-, conference awards were presented'to Kim Hornberger and Peggy Conner of Fort Macleod, Sue Gash of the Lethbridge Collegiate Institute, Ev Daw and Diane Turner of Winston Churchill, Pat Skidmore of Vauxhall and Joan West of Taber. In boys' volleyball play, all- conference awards went to Hugh Harding of Taber, Greg Hunt and Steve Wilson of St. Mary's. Allan Friesen, Robert Janzen and John Wilk of Vauxhall. Jiiti Chymboryk of Winston Churchill and Harvey Wong of LCI. Karate, tourney a success The 1973-74 Southern Alberta karate and kung-fu championships staged at the Lethbridge Collegiate Institute and Civic Sports Centre proved to be an overwhelming success Saturday. Some 200 competitors from the United States, British Columbia, Saskatchewan and Alberta took part in the one- day tourney sponsored by Orr Karate Studios. Two sites were used for the annual event with LCI being the elimination grounds and the Civic Sports Centre as the championship finals site. Meanwhile' hundreds of spectators took in the championship finals which saw six of the titles up for grabs go to local fighters. The local fighters who captured trophies included: Clarence Falk, blue-green spar; Vladas Zajancauska, organe spar; Bob Miles, second white spar; Lloyd Duncotnbe. white belt junior heavyweight spar; Louis Oullette. first and second white belt and Randy Mclntosh, junior forms. Other trophy winners included: Bill Soucie, Edmonton (black belt James Walker (brown belt Dwayne Burton, Medicine Hat (yellow belt James Merrick (white belt Roselyn Fischer, Medicine Hat (women's Raymond (White .belt team Fort Macleod (yellow belt team Lethbridge (second white belt team David Benders, Calgary (yellow belt junior heavyweight Tom Droger, Edmonton (yellow belt junior lightweight Ross Iverson, Medicine Hat (white belt junior lightweight Roselyn Fischner, Medicine Hat (yellow-orange belt junior Robert Supeene, Edmonton (black belt Lynn Sorsdale, Red Deer (weapon and troy Hovey (Shuriken Bowling scores HOLIDAY VILLAGE LADIES Beth Rak 537; Elbe) Styner 255 iris Cook 259; Erma McGuite 277 (6605: Oena Smith 251 Laura Peake 274 Mel Rnnerty 236: Dorothy Hodges 280: Alice Kotibas 228 ALBEHTA AGRICULTURE Gordon Given Mvtes Wlatictiuk 258; Don McDowell 227; Haines 294; Wex Helen McDowell 210: Rita Alexander 218: Keitti Adamson 215; Rudy Susko 210 SENIOR CmZCMS Ms Arefcbold 247; Frank Bernhart 305 Betty Muttlsnd 329 Hazel Wcrtfe 281; Ted Ward 307; Roy laValiey 285: Sen Wladill 303; Veltna Mfflef 281; ten Mflner 236: Audrey Scott 246: Mary Clark 246. VASA LODGE Doug Mefifland 228: Don McLean 235: Jerry Larson 284; Arm Aim 232; Bud Grouetie 261: Bob Mtnwn 276: Carol Pafk 230; lil Hegland 240. TWt LtTMMtlDOC MINOR HOCKEY PfttMMTS A FREE HOCKEY FILM (Courtery