Florence Morning News Newspaper Archives Jan 14 1954, Page 3

Low-resolution version. To view a high quality image

Start Free Trial
Florence Morning News (Newspaper) - January 14, 1954, Florence, South CarolinaThursday morning january 14, 1954 the Florence morning news Florence. S. A Fages Coker alumnae reorganization plan announced Hartsville Jan. 13 con tinning a District reorganization in both under any for More than a year the Coker College alumnae association has combined two districts expanded a third and established a fourth. Leadership changes in these and other Carolina districts have also been announced by alumnae officials. Former districts 4 Anderson and Oconee counties and 21 Greenville and Pickens counties have been combined into a four county 4th District. The 13th District formerly con sisting of Dillon county alone has been expended into a two county interstate District with the addition of Robeson county . Robeson was previously part of n five county Southern North Caro Lina 20th District which has been disbanded. Anson. Columbus. Rich mond and Scotland Are the dropped counties. The recently established District number 30, is an All North Carolina group of four Central counties Davidson Forsyth Guilford and Randolph. Only Randolph has previously been included in a Coker alumnae District. This county was transferred from the 26th, formerly 27th, Central North Carolina District. The remaining eight counties in the 20th District Are Durham Frank Lin Harnett Johnston Orange. Wake Wayne and Wilson. Mrs. E. H. Marion Norris bar ton of Greenville is chairman of the enlarged 4th District. Assistant chairmen representing each of the four counties include mrs. Hich Ard r. Mary masters Allen of Anderson Anderson mrs. Fred w. Mary Neill Bagwell of Greenville Gree Neffle mrs. A. P. Dixie Bear Den Martin of route 2, West minister Oconee and mrs. Bruce b. Elizabeth Anne Mintz hair of Pickens mrs. Allen and mrs. Bag Well headed the old 4th and 21st districts respectively. Chairman of the new inter state 13th District is mrs. A. E. Sadie Moore Carmichael of Lake View previously chairman of the Dillon county District. Airs. W. H. Mary Bryant Mccormic of Row ., is assistant chairman Lor Robeson county. Mrs. Mccoy Mic headed the disbanded 29th District. Mrs. Edwin Tony Geiger Wike of Lexington ., is chairman of the new 30th District. Personnel changes of 1953 54 include replacement of eight additional District chairmen. The cur rent leaders Are mrs. Michael r. Katherine still Campbell of Orangeburg 7th District Bamberg Calhoun and Orangeburg miss Jane Ann Mcgregor of Spartanburg 10th District Cherokee Spartanburg and Union mrs. E. R. Jane o Neill Mclver of Darling ton 12th District Darlington coun mrs. Frances Bynum Clary of Georgetown 15th District George town mrs. Robert e. Elizabeth Benson Holliday of con Way 16th District Horry mrs. Lance Elizabeth Prickett Williams of Marion. 19th District Marion mrs. John j. Eunice Kneece Wolfe of Char Lotte ., 25th, formerly 26th. District Cabarrus Catawba Cleve land Gaston Mecklenburg Row an stanly Union counties . York county miss Carolyn Taylor of Raleigh ., 26th, formerly 27th, District Durham Franklin. Harnett John Eton Orange Wake Wayne and Wilson counties . Miss Taylor was promoted from assistant chair Man of tie District. Another recent replace ment is mrs. G. Ii. Anna Merrill Montgomery of Bishopville As Lee county assistant chairman of the 22nd. Formerly 23rd, District Clar Endon Lee and Sumter counties District leaders represent their districts on the executive Council of the alumnae association. There Are 30 districts in the Carolinas and neighbouring states. They have been renumbered As the recent reorganization has made necessary. Alumnae who resigned As predecessors of the District chairmen just listed Are mrs. J. C. Lois Sansbury Lang Ford of Orangeburg 7th District mrs. C. H. Alma Stubbs Crow of Spartanburg 10th District mrs. S. B. Mary Ross Judy of , 12lh District mrs. Hui iry a. Genc vice Skardon White of George town 15th District mrs. T. B. Ruth Spivey Ludlam of Conway 16th District mrs. J. G. Marie Clyburn Stan Ley of Marion 19th District mrs. John Lou Smith Otts of Char Lotte ., old 26th District and mrs. George Belle Dunlap Thom As of Raleigh ., old 27th District. Mrs. Langford Only briefly filled a vacancy created by the Resig nation of mrs. C. E. Annabelle Hill Summers of Orangeburg As chairman of the 7th District. Mrs. succeeds her Fel Low Rowland ., towns women mrs. J. D. Ruth weeks Mclntyre. Mrs. Mclntyre resigned after a Brief tenure As the expanded 13th District s first assistant chair Man representing Robeson county. As assistant chairman of the 22nd District mrs. Montgomery succeeds a fellow Bishop Lilllan who resigned mrs. Thomas c. Buford do Bose Raskins bitter revelation Newark n.j., Jan. 13 my a thief knows Ilic bitter truth today. That Case he stole fro in parked truck it the Grent Atlantic Pacific ten co. Warehouse yesterday contained 24 bottles of but Tori. Last 3 Sale Days Reg. 174.95 Kenmore designed for better washes easier was Days wringer adjusts to fabrics automatically tinier frees you from Wash watching porcelain enamelled tub holds 9-lb. Down monthly on Sears easy terms usual carrying charge regularly tagged at 264.95 Kenmore automatic gentle agitator washing action regular 179.95 7 cubic foot for 3 Days Down month on Sears easy terms usual carrying chaise porcelain enamelled Interior 15.5 in. Freezer Chest color tone trim save 30.07? i no Nind to Tummino Era to Nickk Down 10.50 month on Sears easy terms usual carrying charge freezes Ond stores 490-lbs. Reg. 379.95 14 cd. It. F Reezer for 3 Days. Down 16.50 month on Sears easy terms usual carrying charge 9 specially priced for his Sale 9 features exclusive super Wall construction no sweating of exterior Walls 9 has All the deluxe cold spot features open All Day every am to 6 pm daily 131 n. Irby st., Florence s. 4361 Friday night is family til 9 pm free parking for Over 200 cars

Search all Florence, South Carolina newspaper archives

All newspaper archives for January 14, 1954