New Braunfels Herald Zeitung, April 18, 1997, Page 5

New Braunfels Herald Zeitung

April 18, 1997

View full page Start A Free Trial!

Issue date: Friday, April 18, 1997

Pages available: 20

Previous edition: Thursday, April 17, 1997

Next edition: Sunday, April 20, 1997 - Used by the World's Finest Libraries and Institutions
About New Braunfels Herald Zeitung About

Publication name: New Braunfels Herald Zeitung

Location: New Braunfels, Texas

Pages available: 164,099

Years available: 1952 - 2013

Learn more about this publication
  • 2.10+ billion articles and growing everyday!
  • More than 400 years of papers. From 1607 to today!
  • Articles covering 50 U.S.States + 22 other countries
  • Powerful, time saving search features!
Start your membership to the world's largest newspaper archive now!
Start your genealogy search now!
See with your own eyes the newspapers your great-great grandparents held.

View sample pages : New Braunfels Herald Zeitung, April 18, 1997

All text in the New Braunfels Herald Zeitung April 18, 1997, Page 5.

New Braunfels Herald-Zeitung (Newspaper) - April 18, 1997, New Braunfels, Texas HeraldZeitung O Friday April O 5A CISD SVHS Players make school history advance to competition See the UIL award winning play April 19 at SVHS The Smithson Valley Players made history for the school with their out standing performances during UIL One Act Play competition They advanced from UIL Zone to District contest and were picked to go on to Area competition At Area the troupe won even more awards andreceived the nodtoperform at Regional UIL competition a first ever for the school The Regional per formance will Antonios John Jay High School This is really great The kids are just super Its definitely the best weve ever an excited Shawn Saunders SVHS drama teacher and play Director said She is a nineyear teaching veteran at the school Many of the Players won UIL awards for their performances and work on their one act play entry Jean Anouilhs Thieves Carnival Erik Heard and Laura Cox won Zone AllStar Cast Awards and Tamber Richey and Chad Spear re ceived Honorable Mention AllStar Cast medals Zone Best Actor acco lades were received by Hal Moncrief and Best Crew Award went to Assis tant Director and Stage Manager Stacey Flores At District AllS tar medals went to Laura Cox Erik Heard and Chad Spear Tamber Richey and Mike Lynch won the Honorable Mention AllStar Cast Awards Colby Mantooth received the District Best Actor medal and Mandy Marin won Best Crew for her work as Stage Man ager and Costume Designer The full cast and crew of the record setting SVHS Players includes Tamber Richey Erik Heard January Ragland Justin Whitney Colby Mantooth Chad Spear Amy Kneupper Laura Cox Courtney Hurst Hal Moncrief Johnny de los Santos Mike Lynch Shawn Holt Alyssa Crandall Heather May Kara McNiel Edna Snowden Willie John Snowden Stacy Flores Mandy Marin Travis Watson and Jillian Hurst CISD photo by Don Clark Shown are the cast and crew of the UIL Award winning SVHS Players as they prepare for Regional competition and their play ThievesCarnival by Jean Anouilh Patrons can see this award winning comedy at 7 April 19 in the school commons Admission is for citizens and for others Senior citizens can attend free of charge with the CISD Senior Citizen Card available from the CISD Office of Public Information Not pictured Travis Watson Alyssa Crandall Ertek Head and Edna Add these important events to your calendar Apr 19 Night of One Act Plays 7 SVHS Commons Apr 22 Earth Day activities scheduled at elementary and primary schools Apr 22 Arlon Seay Intermediate School Learning Fair Apr 22 LongRange Facilities Planning Committee Meeting SVMS Apr 24 Take Our Daughters and Sons to Work Day Apr 24 Board of Trustees Meeting Bill Brown Elementary School Apr 25 Canyon Intermediate School TAAS Pep Rally 1 gym Apr 25 Canyon Middle School Dance 710 commons CHS business students win state advance to national competition CISD photo by Don Clark Pictured in front are the CHS Texas State Championship Small Business Management Team of LR Jerome Clayton Leilani Parra Kimberly Hall Kay Franklin faculty Ricardo Romanillos The team will compete at the Business Professionals of America National Conference in Orlando Florida GailGitcho Courtnee Hohensee and Melissa Yeaman back row will also travel to Orlando to represent the school in the election process for national officers Four Canyon High School business students won a Texas Championship at the Business Professionals of America State Conference They now travel to competition at the National Leadership Conference scheduled for April 25 through 29 in Orlando Florida Kimberly Hall Leilani Parra Jerome Cray ton and Ricardo Romanillos are the 1997 Small Busi ness Management Team state cham pions Small Business Management com petition is designed to test the students ability to negotiate solu tions think creatively make deci sions and solve problems as a team The team was required to provide solutions to a business case study then make their presentation to a three judge panel To win the team demon strated a superior knowledge of busi ness management concepts including requirements busi ness ethics human resources finance market research bankruptcy and le gal issues Gail Gitcho Courtnee Hohensee and Melissa Yeaman will also attend the national conference They will work with the election process for national officers of the Business Pro fessionals of America organization Their responsibilities will include making presentations on behalf of the three Texas delegates to the confer ence Over students from across the nation are slated to attend the National Business Professionals of America Conference They will par ticipate in national level business skill competitions workshops and national officer candidate campaigns and elec tions The CHS students must raise about by midApril to travel to Na tional competition Sponsors and do nors are asked to contact Canyon High School at 6256251 MMI m MM MM MM MM MH TRUSTEE ELECTION MADE EASY WHO VOTES Only patrons in single member districts SMD and 5 SMD numbers are found on your voter registration card Questions Call the CISD Business Office at 8857674 or 6258081 THE CANDIDATES SMD Lee Dcels Dora Gonzales SMD Dan K Krueger unopposed SMD Lester Jonas Calvin Kempin Bill Burnam TO VOTE Early Voting For all polls 8 weekdays April 1429 Comal County Courthouse Courthouse only Saturday April Bill Brown Elementary Bulverde Elementary Comal Elementary Mountain Valley Elementary Schools Election Day 7 May 3 Canyon High School SMDs 1 and 2 BUI Brown Elementary School SMD 5 clip and save 1 ISI I INI BWi The 199798 Edition of the felcome to Braunfels Guide is just around the corner copies will be distributed in New Iraunfels and ComaiCounty from Way through the end of the year FSl A 1 estate shopping centers 1 plus a Church Copies may be found at and of course Features will include Directory Schools Youth interesting to Visitors ;